Making side leaders for the longarm

December 28, 2016

While attempting to do ruler work on a charity quilt, I decided the velcro straps with the heavy clamps on the sides of my Gammill were just too heavy and floppy.  I seemed to have too much movement, especially as I quilted close to the edge of a quilt.  After a few Youtube videos, I decided that Sharon Schamber’s idea of adding side leaders may help stabilize everything.  So, I raided my stash and found some heavy denim (non-stretch) and took a few measurements.  My leaders are a little different than those in the video, but the idea is the same.

I measured out 2 rectangles approximately 21.5 inches by 14 inches.  These measurements are based on the size of my machine and well, the piece of fabric  I had.  Kind of pragmatic!

Next I serged the shorter ends to finish the edges.  A narrow hem would work really well also.

img_1402

After finishing the edge, I folded the pieces lengthwise (hotdog style) and stitched a 1.omm seam.

img_1405

Now, off to press the seam on the sleeve roll, then press the whole tube with the seam at one edge.  The edge with the seam allowance is where I attach the clamps.  The other edge I pin to the sides of the quilt backing.

I considered adding a pocket to put a dowel in, but I think I will try this for now.  If I need it later I can always go back and stitch it.

img_1409

All pressed and starched, ready to give ’em a try.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

